Variations On A Master Plan


  • Gebhard Ullmann - soprano and tenor saxophones, bass clarinet
  • Michael Jefry Stevens - piano
  • Joe Fonda - bass
  • Han Bennink - drums


  1. Quiet (Stevens) 10:45
  2. Circle (Fonda) 8:57
  3. Variations On A Theme by Claude Debussy (Ullmann) 13:51
  4. Parlami Di Me (Nino Rota arr. Ullmann) 2:54
  5. Improvisation No.2 (Ullmann/Stevens/Fonda/Bennink) 7:18
  6. Song For My Mother (Fonda) 3:30

Release Info

Leo Records, 2003

Recorded by Gerhard Gruber on March 7, 2001 live at the Unterfahrt, Munich, Germany
Cover Design: Gebhard Ullmann
Produced by Gebhard Ullmann, Joe Kienemann, Monika Schweichler for Bayerischer Rundfunk and Leo Feigin
Released 2003 by Leo Records [LR 371]

3½ stars by Glenn Astarita in a review for Down Beat

“Variations On A Master Plan” - Leo Records, 2003

Order CD

Price (USD): $15

Contact Joe for discounts and shipping rates when purchase multiple items.