Home » Discography » Twelve Improvisations - The Fonda Stevens Group

Twelve Improvisations - The Fonda Stevens Group

The Fonda/Stevens Group: Twelve Improvisations

Twelve Improvisations - The Fonda Stevens Group


  • Herb Robertson - trumpet
  • Daunik Lazro - alto and baritone saxophones
  • Michael Jefry Stevens - piano
  • Joe Fonda - double bass
  • Harvey Sorgen - drums

Track list:

  1. Ostrich 3:54
  2. The Meeting 5:17
  3. Electricity 7:19
  4. In the Distance 3:48
  5. Talking Drum 5:58
  6. Extracurricular Activity 5:10
  7. Front and Center 5:33
  8. Call and Response 4:01
  9. Dante's Inferno 4:02
  10. Distant Voices 9:25
  11. Bariphonics 1:45
  12. Trance 3:45

Release information:

All compositions by Fonda, Stevens, Robertson, Sorgen and Lazro
Recorded on October 23, 2002 at 'Le Carre Bleu', Poitiers, France.
Post Production at Nevessa Productions - Woodstock, New York.
Mixed by Harvey Sorgen, edited by Harry Fulcher.
Cover Art by Imke Gatzemeier
Released 2004 by Leo Records [LR 394]

Special Thanks to: Bernard Prouteau, Daunik Lazro, Bernard Aime, Philippe Levraud and Leo Feigin without whom this recording would not have been possible.
Special thanks to Harvey Sorgen and Herb Robertson for their untiring and unswerving dedication to our music.
This music only exists because of their efforts and patience.
Thanks guys!

Released: 2004
Label: Leo Records

Order Online

Recording: Twelve Improvisations - The Fonda Stevens Group
Released: 2004
Label: Leo Records
Price: $15.00

Featured Project

Conference Call

[founded in 1999, collective] Conference Call is a new quartet using project featuring the exciting German woodwind virtuoso Gebhard Ullmann the established piano/bass collaboration of Michael Jefrey Stevens and Joe Fonda (the Fonda Stevens Group) and the highly individual percussion styling of master drummer Matt Wilson.