Mosaic Sextet


  • Dave Douglas - trumpet
  • Mark Feldman - violin
  • Michael Rabinowitz - bassoon
  • Michael Jefry Stevens - piano
  • Joe Fonda - bass
  • Harvey Sorgen - drums


Titles CD 1:

  1. Mosaic (Douglas) 6:57***
  2. Gang Wars (Douglas) 1:55*
  3. Mr. Phinney (Stevens) 6:51***
  4. In Progress (Douglas) 5:52*
  5. Oskar (Stevens) 7:09***
  6. Superconductor (Douglas) 9:05***
  7. Drum Song (Stevens) 3:39***
  8. Trio for Sextet (Stevens) 5:20**
  9. Children's Somber Dance (Douglas) 5:07***
  10. Today, This Moment(Stevens) 14:31*

Titles CD 2:

  1. Underground (Douglas) 9:11**
  2. Anthem (Stevens) 12:16**
  3. Motivation (Rabinowitz) 7:50**
  4. Earth Tones (Douglas) 13:55*
  5. Bassoon Lines (Rabinowitz) 9:18*
  6. Afternoon (Stevens) 13:36**

Release Info

GM Recordings, 2001

This newly re-mastered set includes the group's German release, Today, This Moment, and a second disc of never-before-released material. The Mosaic Sextet also features the earliest Dave Douglas and Michael Jefry Stevens compositions available on CD and the first collaboration (of many) between Douglas and violinist Mark Feldman.

"The Mosaic Sextet was an important band for me. For one thing, it allowed me to make my first forwards into extended composition. The instrumentation, with the violin and bassoon — which are not traditionally jazz instruments — helped me break the three horns/three rhythm section formula of most jazz writing. The group freed me up … there was a spirit of trying to do something new and original." — Dave Douglas

"Dave Douglas is a composer in the great creative tradition of Ellington and Mingus, and the Mosaic Sextet is one of the finest combinations of composition and improvisation I have heard in the last ten years.  — Gunther Schuller

* Recorded on January 19, 1988 at Dreamland Recording Studio in West Hurley, New York
** Recorded on February 2, 1989 at Rockin' Reel Studios in East Northport, New York
*** Recorded on March 5, 1990 at Tedesco Studios in Paramus, New Jersey
Released in 2001 by GM Recordings | GM 3045
Producers: Mosaic Sextet | executive Producer: Gunther Schuller

• Listed in "The Penguin Jazz Guide - The History of the Music in the 1001 Best Albums."

“Mosaic Sextet” - GM Recordings, 2001

Order CD

Price (USD): $15

Contact Joe for discounts and shipping rates when purchase multiple items.